Coastal Rowing – Ocean Rowing: “Atlantic’s calling”

Share this Post

We announced in September that we would accompany Martin Stengele on his way from La Gomera to Antigua. As supporters of Martin, we keep providing updates about Martin’s current stage of his preparation. It’s about three years to go until the Coastal Rowing – Ocean Rowing Challenge starts.

Martin makes excellent progress with his rowing preparations. Lake Constance has become a second home for him. His picture above reveals that he is prepared for long and lonely laps on the lake – boat mirrors and paddle hooks are always with him.

Martin managed to get the attention of several media outlets. A big goal was to find sponsors who would support his adventure financially. Especially if you think about the money he has already spent until today. Almost 100.000€ have already been spent on the preparation so far. Have a look at an article by the German Rowing Association (in German).

Coastal Rowing – Ocean Rowing RS Credit: Martin Stengele

 

The Atlantic Challenge is considered one of the toughest rowing races in the world. It can be described as an extreme sport that only slightly overlaps with coastal rowing. Of course, a certain rowing technique is necessary but much more than technique, it’s a challenge for your mental and physical strength. So far, only a few Germans have dared to take on this challenge. The most recent and famous ones are the four women from RowHHome, Meike, Catharina, Steffi and Timna, who were the first women’s team to reach the finish line after 42 days and 5,000 kilometres in January 2020. Their film “Wellenbrecherinnen” accompanies this emotional adventure.

Now another German wants to face the challenge from La Gomera to Antigua – the 51-year-old sports and mental coach Martin Stengele!

Coastal Rowing - Ocean Rowing
Martin on Lake Constance. Credit Martin Stengele

 

3 years of intense preparation for the Atlantic Challenge

There is no question that Martin has a strong spirit and willpower because his goal is extremely ambitious. “I watched the film Die Wellenbrecherinnen and thought I’d like to do that too,” explains Martin in an initial interview. The most important step for this has been taken – last year, he joined the RV Konstanz and started rowing, preferably in the Coastal Boat that he bought. In December 2024, he will participate in the Atlantic Challenge as a solo rower. He estimates that it will take him something between 60 to 90 days. 

Martin still has to smile a little bit when he thinks about the decision-making. “My private environment and I naturally first questioned whether I was really sure what I was getting myself into. And then the thought occurred to me whether it might be a midlife crisis thing, but it’s not.” Martin is driven by a quote from John Steinbeck: “People don’t go on adventures, adventures take care of people.”

“Rowing for life” – Raising awareness for Cystic Fibrosis 

It is not possible to participate in the Atlantic Challenge without a “good cause” and a supported charity. This is another reason for Martin to participate. With his participation, he wants to support the work of Mukoviszidose e.V., a charity for cystic fibrosis and all those affected by this disease. 100% of his profit goes to the non-profit association. But taking part in the challenge is not just a matter of physical effort and time but also a question of financial resources. In total, Martin is approaching 6 digits in costs, which he is already trying to raise through initial collaborations. He is still at the very beginning and is dependent on numerous support. But not only do financial donations help at this point, but also rowing-specific know-how or other forms of support, such as in the field of social media, are in demand!

Anyone who finds the project exciting and would like to support Martin on his way can contact him directly by email: info@rudernfuersleben.de

We will continue to follow Martin’s preparation. If you have any questions for us or ask us if we can support Martin together, send us an email.

Coastal Rowing – Ocean Rowing – “Atlantic’s calling”

Atlantic Challenge, Martins Podcast

 

If you understand German, you can also look into Martin’s podcast, which is becoming more and more interesting. You can find the last two episodes here.

 

 

Advertisement

Share this Post

Subscribe to our Newsletter for more interesting posts:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This might also interest you

Are Coastal Rowers friendly?

We have updated this post recently. After participating to many this summer, this question came up again: Are Coastal Rowers friendly? We still confirm our

Read more »

Coastal Rowing – Ocean Rowing: Der Atlantik ruft

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Wir hatten im September angekündigt, dass wir Martin Stengele auf seinem Weg von La Gomera nach Antigua begleiten wollen. Als Unterstützer von Martin geben wir in unregelmäßigen Abständen immer wieder Infos zum aktuellen Planungsstadium von Martin. Noch fast 3 Jahre bis zum Coastal Rowing – Ocean Rowing.

Ruderisch kommt Martin gut voran. Der Bodensee ist nun eine weitere Ruderheimat geworden. Sein Titelbild verrät, dass er sich auf lange und einsame Runden auf dem See eingerichtet hat. Bootsspiegel und Paddelhaken sind immer dabei.

Martin hat es geschafft, sein Anliegen in die Medien zu bringen. Ein großes Ziel war es Sponsoren zu finden, die sein Abenteuer unterstützen. Was viele nicht wissen, bis Martin an den Start gegangen ist, sind bereits fast 100.000 Euro ausgegeben worden. Coastal Rowing –  Ocean Rowing: der Atlantic ruft. Es ist Martin mit Bravour gelungen gute PR zu machen. Er erfährt medial große Unterstützung. Hier zum Beispiel ein Artikel des Deutschen Ruderverbandes:

Coastal Rowing – Ocean Rowing RS Credit: Martin Stengele

“Die Atlantic Challenge gilt als eines der härtesten Ruderrennen der Welt. Es kann als ein Extremsport bezeichnet werden, der mit dem Rudern im klassischen Sinne und selbst mit dem Coastal-Rowing nur leichte Überschneidungen hat. Natürlich ist eine gewisse Rudertechnik notwendig, viel mehr aber ist bei diesem Selbsttest gegen sich und die Natur die mentale und physische Stärke sowie Ausdauer gefragt. Bisher haben sich nur wenige Deutsche an diese Herausforderung gewagt. Das prominenteste Beispiel aus der Vergangenheit sind die vier Frauen von RowHHome, Meike, Catharina, Steffi und Timna, die im Januar 2020 nach 42 Tagen und 5.000 Kilometern als erstes Frauenteam das Ziel erreichten. Ihr Film Wellenbrecherinnen begleitet dieses emotionale Abenteuer. Nun will sich ein weiterer Deutscher der Strecke von La Gomera nach Antigua stellen – der 51-jährige Sport- und Mental Coach Martin Stengele.

Coastal Rowing - Ocean Rowing
Martin trainiert am Bodensee. Credit Martin Stengele

 

In drei Jahren zur Atlantic Challenge
Dass Martin einen starken Kampfgeist und Siegeswillen hat, das steht außer Frage, denn sein Ziel ist äußerst ambitioniert. „Ich habe den Film die Wellenbrecherinnen gesehen und dachte mir, das möchte ich auch“, erklärt Martin in einem ersten Gespräch. Der wichtigste Schritt dafür ist getan – im letzten Jahr ist er dem RV Konstanz beigetreten und hat mit dem Rudern angefangen, bevorzugt im Coastal Boot, das er sich gekauft hat. Im Dezember 2024 möchte er dann als Solo-Ruderer an der Atlantic Challenge teilnehmen und diese in einem Zeitrahmen von 60 bis 90 Tagen meistern.

Im Hinblick auf seine ausschlaggebenden Gründe muss Martin ein wenig schmunzeln. „Mein privates Umfeld und auch ich selbst haben mich natürlich zunächst hinterfragt, ob ich mir sicher bin, worauf ich mich da einlasse. Und da kam mir dann auch der Gedanke ob das vielleicht so ein Midlife-Crisis-Ding ist, aber das ist es nicht.“ Antrieb für Martin ist ein Spruch von John Steinbeck „Menschen unternehmen keine Abenteuer, die Abenteuer nehmen sich der Menschen an“.

„Rudern fürs Leben“ als Leitspruch
Eine Anmeldung bei der Atlantic Challenge ohne eine Charity-Maßnahme ist nicht möglich. Ein weiterer Grund für Martin teilzunehmen. Denn mit seinem Rennen möchte er die Arbeit von Mukoviszidose e.V. und damit alle von dieser Krankheit Betroffenen unterstützen. Der gesamte Gewinn wird zu 100 % an den gemeinnützigen Verein übergeben. Doch die Teilnahme an der Challenge ist neben dem enormen körperlichen und zeitlichen Aufwand auch eine Frage des Geldes. In Summe kommt ein 6-stelliger Betrag auf Martin zu, den er bereits durch erste Kooperationen versucht aufzubringen. Noch steht er ganz am Anfang und ist auf zahlreiche Unterstützung, auch aus der Ruderfamilie, angewiesen. Nicht nur finanzielle Spenden helfen, sondern auch ruderspezifisches Know-How oder sonstige Formen der Unterstützung, wie beispielsweise im Bereich der Sozialen Medien sind gefragt. Wer das Projekt spannend findet und Martin auf seinem Weg unterstützen möchte kann sich direkt per Mail an ihn wenden: info@rudernfuersleben.de …..”

Wir werden Martins Aktionen weiter verfolgen.

Coastal Rowing – Ocean Rowing – Der Atlantic ruft

Atlantic Challenge, Martins Podcast

 

Martin’s Podcast wird immer interessanter. Hier die letzten beiden Folgen. Hört doch mal rein (https://die-reich-methode.libsyn.com/interview-mit-martin-stengele-atlantic-challenge-983)! Wir werden Martin bald wieder treffen. Habt Ihr Fragen an Martin oder wollt Ihr Ihn unterstützen? Meldet Euch gerne bei uns.

 

 

Anzeige

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Abonnieren sie unseren Newsletter für weitere interessante Beiträge:

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Das könnte sie auch interessieren

Coastal Rowing in Arcachon, FR

Haben Sie in letzter Zeit über einen Coastal Rowing Trip nachgedacht? Wir haben schon einige Male über Coastal Rowing berichtet und sehr positive Rückmeldungen erhalten.

Weiterlesen »