Coastal Boats

Martin Stengele’s Coastal Challenge

2024 is still far away. Or is it not? The Coastal Challenge for Martin Stengele is just around the corner.

For this particular challenge you need a long time to prepare. 3 years is a long time and it will be probably enough.

3 years of preparation

In the coming months we will accompany Martin and publish his live podcasts again and again. He himself says: “Rowing for life”, with this strong motto I will take part in the Talisker Whiskey Atlantik Challenge 2024 as a solo rower.” Martin initially trains on Lake Constance with an RS x-light (x16).

Coastal Challenge: Das X-16 als Trainingsboot
Martin Stengele with his RS X-light (X16)

Atlantic Challenge

The Atlantic Challenge is known as one of the toughest rowing races in the world. This annual event starts in mid-December. Like many previous seafarers, the race starts from the island of La Gomera (Canary Islands), more precisely in the port of San Sebastian de la Gomera.

Coastal Rowing
Coastal Challenge für Sporttherapeut Martin Stengele

The destination is west-southwest in the Caribbean on the beautiful island of Antigua. In between the two ports is only the Atlantic with a distance of 3000 nautical miles or the equivalent of 5500 kilometres. As hint for how long such a crossing takes, I expect a time for myself as a solo rower of at least 60 to 90 days. At this point, at the latest, you have to realize what you are getting into. The organizers work very professional and offer all teams the best possible safety.
In order to participate, various compulsory courses must be completed for safety reasons. These include: first aid at sea, safety training, training in navigation and meteorology, radio certification and a 120-hour trip on your own rowing boat. For this challenge, special ocean-compatible rowing boats will be used. There are boat classes from single to fivers. I decided on a solo rowing boat. On board of such a high-tech rowing boat are all sorts of technical facilities, starting with navigation equipment, radios, satellite telephones, locating devices for emergencies, alarm buttons, life rafts, solar systems and a desalination system for water treatment.

Coastal Challenge for Martin Stengele

Listen here to the Podcast of Martin Stengele (in German):

Podcast 1: Martin Stengele is rowing for Life
Podcast 2: How does Martin Stengele deal with stress?
Podcast 3: Martin Stengele and his sponsors

More Information about the Challenge?

Learn more about the Talisker Whiskey: Atlantic Challenge

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Coastal Boats

Coastal Challenge für Martin Stengele

2024 ist noch sehr weit weg. Vielleicht auch nicht. Die Coastal Challenge für Martin Stengele steht kurz vor der Tür.

Es ist eine lange Vorbereitungszeit um die Challenge zu bezwingen. 3 Jahre sind lange und wahrscheinlich auch ausreichend. Wir haben in früheren Blogs schon über eines der härtesten Rennen geschrieben.

3 Jahre Vorbereitung

In den kommenden Monaten werden wir Martin begleiten und immer wieder seine Live-Podcasts veröffentlichen. Er sagt selbst: „Rudern fürs Leben“, unter diesem starken Leitmotiv werde ich an der Talkisker Whiskey Atlantik Challenge 2024 als Solo-Ruderer teilnehmen“ Martin trainiert zunächst am Bodensee mit einem RS x-light (x16).

 

Coastal Challenge: Das X-16 als Trainingsboot
Martin Stengele mit seinem RS X-light

Atlantik Challenge

Die Atlantik Challenge wird als eines der taffesten Ruderrennen der Welt bezeichnet. Der Start zu dieser jährlich wiederkehrenden Veranstaltung ist Mitte Dezember. Wie alle früheren Seefahrer startet das Rennen von der Insel La Gomera (Kanarische Inseln), genauer gesagt im Hafen von San Sebastian de la Gomera.

Coastal Rowing
Coastal Challenge für Sporttherapeut Martin Stengele

Der Zielhafen liegt mit Kurs Westsüdwest in der Karibik auf der traumhaften Insel Antigua. Dazwischen befindet sich lediglich der Atlantik mit einer Strecke von 3000 Seemeilen oder umgerechnet 5500 Kilometer. Damit Du Dir dies etwas plastischer vorstellen kannst, wie lange solch eine Überquerung dauert, rechne ich mit einer Zeit für mich als Solo-Ruderer von mindestens 60 bis hin zu 90 Tagen. Spätestens hier muss einem klar werden, worauf man sich dabei einlässt. Die Veranstalter arbeiten hier sehr professionell und bieten allen Teams die bestmögliche Sicherheit an.
Um überhaupt qualifiziert zu werden, müssen aus Sicherheitsgründen verschiedene Pflichtkurse absolviert werden. Hierzu gehören unter anderem: Erste Hilfe See, Sicherheitstraining, Ausbildung in Navigation sowie Wetterkunde, Funkzeugnis und eine 120 Stündige Fahrt auf dem eigenen Ruderboot. Es werden für diese Challenge spezielle Ozean taugliche Ruderboote zum Einsatz kommen. Grundsätzlich gibt es Bootsklassen vom Einer bis zum Fünfer Boot. Ich hingegen habe mich ja für ein Solo Ruderboot entschieden. An Bord eines solchen Hightech Ruderbootes befinden sich alle möglichen technischen Einrichtungen angefangen bei der Navigationsausrüstung, Funkgeräte, Satellitentelefon, Ortungsgerät für den Notfall, Alarmknopf, Rettungsinsel, Solaranlage und eine Entsalzungsanlage zur Wasseraufbereitung.

Coastal Challenge für Martin Stengele

Hört hier den Podcast von Martin Stengele:

Podcast 1: Martin Stengele rudert für’s Leben
Podcast 2: Wie geht Martin Stengele mit Druck um?
Podcast 3: Martin Stengele und seine Sponsoren

Mehr Infos zur Challenge?

Hier findet ihr mehr zur Talisker Whiskey: Atlantic Challenge

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.