Coastal Boats

The Coastal Rowing waves in Oeiras

The World Cup of the Coastal Rowing Community is just around the corner! The preparations and planning are in full swing. However, questions about the conditions remain! So, how are the Coastal Rowing waves in Oeiras?

The location:

The beach of Praia da Torre has a wonderful powdery sand – sand you usually expect from a perfect vacation spot. It’s also very close to the imposing Forte de São Juliao de Barra, dating back to the 16th century.

Coastal Rowing in Portugal
Beach Praia da Torre in Oeiras. Credit: Visit Portugal

The beach with it’s gentle, crystal-clear sea, is practically a sheltered bay – bordered to the east by the Oeiras Marina. The harbor wall serves as a windbreak. Praia da Torre is an excellent bathing beach and offers plenty of space for coastal rowers and their boats. Praia da Torre is not easy to reach by cars, especially with trailers, so you better take a closer look at the route!

The Coastal Rowing waves in Oeiras

The waves that roll into the Tagus from the Atlantic can be impressive. It is not for nothing that the coast around Lisbon is one of the top surfing spots in Europe. Even rogue waves have appeared here. They break against the harbor wall and splash over it in a wide arc.

It is definitely more moderate on the beach itself. The best time to have constant and even waves is during the winter – and good for us – also the month of September. Our people on site report that in autumn there is a wave height of approx. 150-200cm which flows about every 5-7 seconds.

So there is usually light swell with light, offshore winds.
Clean waves suitable for surfers are typically found only 1% of the time in September, while 1% of the time tends to be very shallow. The remaining 97% of the time, it is considered too small by most surfers, but is ok our even nearly perfect for us rowers.

Coastal Rowing Statistics
Coastal Waves in Oeiras

Coastal Rowing Championship Oeiras
Coastal Waves in Oeiras

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The graphics above describe the combination of swell aimed at Torre during a typical September.

Coastal Rowing waves in Oeiras
Swell in September – 97% of the waves are too small for surfers
Coastal Rowing waves in Oeiras
Swell in October – 94% of the waves are too small for surfers

 

 

 

 

 

 

The diagram shows that the most frequent swell direction, represented by the largest spokes, was WSW, while the prevailing wind is from NW. On an average September, the swell is big enough to make surfable waves in Torre only about 3% of the time. 97% of the time the waves are not long enough – mind you, for surfers. The wave height can also be seen in the diagram.

Wind in Oeiras

Torre.wind.statistics.septemberThe graph shows how often and how strong the winds blow from different directions in a typical September. The longest spikes point in the directions from which the wind blows most often. And the shade of blue indicates the strength. The prevailing wind at Torre is blowing from the WSW according to the model.

If the color plot shows an almost round shape, it means that there is no strong wind direction distortion at Torre. Conversely, dominant spokes represent preferred directions, and the darker blue, the stronger the wind. Winds in excess of 40 km / h (25 mph) are not expected during a typical September. As said, these are statistical data, measured since 2006.

 

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on email

Abonnieren sie unseren Newsletter für weitere interessante Beiträge:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Das könnte sie auch interessieren

Open chat
1
Questions, put an order, suggestions?
Hello, welcome to Coastal Boats! How can we help you?

Coastal Boats

Die Coastal Rowing Welle in Oeiras

Bald ist es soweit. Die WM der Coastal Rowing Community stehr vor der Tür. Die Vorbereitungen und Planungen laufen auf Hochtouren. Es bleiben dennoch vielen Fragen über die Bedingungen. Wie wird die Coastal Rowing Welle in Oeiras?

Standort:

Der Strand Praia da Torre zeichnet sich durch einen wunderschönen, pulvrigen Sand aus. Ganz in der Nähe des imposanten Forte de São Juliao de Barra aus dem 16. Jahrhundert.

Coastal Rowing in Portugal
Strand Praia da Torre in Oeiras. Credit: Visit Portugal

Der von einem sanften, kristallklaren Meer umspülte Strand ist praktisch eine geschützte Bucht, die im Osten von der Oeiras Marina begrenzt wird. Die Hafenmauer dient als Windschutz.  Praia da Torre ist ein ausgezeichneter Badestrand und bietet viel Platz für Küstenruderer und Ihre Boote. Praia da Torre ist allerdings nicht so einfach anzufahren, schaut Euch besser die Route genauer an!

Die Coastal Rowing Welle in Oeiras

Die Wellen, die vom Atlantik her in den Tejo hinein rollen, sind teilweise beeindruckend. Nicht umsonst ist die Küste um Lissabon eines der Top Surf Reviere in Europa. Selbst Monsterwellen sind hier schon aufgetaucht. Sie brechen sich an der Hafenmauer und spritzen in weitem Bogen darüber hinweg.

Am Strand selbst ist es moderater. Die beste Jahreszeit um konstante, gleichmässige und saubere Wellen zu haben ist der Winter  –  und das ist schön für uns –  auch der Monat September. Unsere Leute vor Ort berichten, dass im Herbst eine Wellenhöhe von ca. 150-200cm vorherrscht die etwa alle 5-7 Sekunden anfliesst.
Es herrscht also meist leichter Wellengang bei leichten, ablandigen Winden.
Saubere für Surfer geeignete Wellen findet man in der Regel 1% der Zeit im September, während 1% der Zeit dazu neigt, sehr flach zu werden. In den verbleibenden 97 % der Fälle wird es von den meisten Surfern als zu klein angesehen, ist für uns Ruderer aber ok. 
Coastal Rowing Statistics
Coastal Welle in Oeiras

Coastal Rowing Championship Oeiras
Coastal Welle in Oeiras

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Die Grafik oben beschreibt die Kombination von Swell/ Dünungen, die während eines typischen Septembers auf Torre gerichtet sind.

Coastal Rowing Welle in Oeiras
September Swell – 97% der Wellen zu klein für Surfer
Coastal Rowing Welle in Oeiras
October Swell – 94% der Wellen zu klein für Surfer

 

 

 

 

 

 

Das Diagramm zeigt, dass die häufigste Dünungsrichtung, dargestellt durch die größten Speichen, WSW war, während der vorherrschende Wind aus NW weht. In einen durchschnittlichen September, schwillt der Swell groß genug, um in Torre etwa 3% der Zeit surfbare Wellen zu erzeugen. 97% der Zeit sind die Wellen nicht lang genug- für Surfer wohlgemerkt. Die Wellenhöhe ist auch im Diagramm ersichtlich.

Wind in Oeiras

Torre.wind.statistics.septemberDas Diagramm zeigt, wie oft und wie stark der Wind aus verschiedenen Richtungen an einem typischen September weht. Die längsten Speichen zeigen in die Richtungen, aus denen der Wind am häufigsten weht. Und der Blauton zeigt die Stärke an. Der vorherrschende Wind bei Torre weht laut Modell aus WSW.

Wenn der Farbenplot eine fast runde Form zeigt, bedeutet dies, dass es bei Torre keine starke Verzerrung der Windrichtung gibt. Umgekehrt repräsentieren dominante Speichen bevorzugte Richtungen, und je dunkelblauer, desto stärker der Wind. Während eines typischen Septembers werden keine Winde von mehr als 40 km/h (25 mph) erwartet. Wie gesagt. Das sind statistische Daten, gemessen seit 206

 

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.