Coastal Boats

What is the Beach Sprint?

You might have heard of the two formats at Coastal Rowing regattas – Beach sprint and long distance. The former is certainly the one that is most interesting for teams and spectators. Start and finish are on the beach, but the race is usually decided at the turn of the beach sprint. But what exactly is the Beach Sprint?

At the Summer Youth Olympics in Dakar (Senegal) in 2026 the Beach Sprint will be part of the programme. So it will be interesting to see how a discipline like this will be handled in an Olympic setting.

What is the beach sprint?

What is the Beach Sprint?
250 m with slalom and turning buoys
Credit: World Rowing

A short distance of 250m is rowed until a turning buoy is reached. On the way to the turning buoy, 2 marker buoys must be passed in a slalom. Once the turning buoy has been circled, the athletes can row on the direct route to the beach. Turning is the most critical manoeuvre during the race and is often crucial to success or failure. World Rowing has a nice video about this from the 2019 events. We took the pictures in this post from the video.

The start:

The rowers stand on the beach and wait for the starting gun. As soon as the shot has happened, they run to the boat and get on. To keep the boat stable, every athlete has 2 helpers who hold the boat for him. This is the only way to get started in an orderly manner. Every athlete has his own tricks for getting on the boat and rowing away as quickly as possible. At the beginning the following questions should be answered: Are the shoes sitting correctly? Where are the skulls and on which side do I get in? It is important to be mentally prepared!

The boat handlers

Coastal Rowing and Beach Sprint
Boat handler help the rowers to enter the boat

All rowers have two or three helpers at the boat. They are called boat handlers and hold the boat level and straighten the rowers skulls. All of this is carefully planned so that boarding the boat works as quickly and smoothly as possible. It’s not always easy. The swell and the outgoing waves often make it bumpy, or you could also say challenging and exciting.

 

Slalom, turn and a direct route to the goal

When the athletes are seated, they row straight away at full power. With a total of 500 meters, there is no tacting or weighing up how best to divide one’s forces. “Full Speed” from start to finish! If the slalom is rowed incorrectly, there are penalties, as well as if the turn is rowed incorrectly.

The turn is a special manoeuvre in itself and has to be practiced often. We’ll describe the turnaround here in the blog next week. Once you are around the buoy, the sprint starts. You row back full speed to the beach, jump out of the boat (boat handlers are ready to catch the boat) and run to the beach to press the buzzer.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Coastal Boats

Was ist eigentlich ein Beach Sprint?

Wir kennen die die beiden Formate im Küstenrudern. Beach Sprint und Langstrecke. Ersteres ist sicher das für Teams und Zuschauer interessantere. Start und Finish sind am Strand, entschieden wird das Rennen aber meist an der Wende des Beach Sprints. Aber was ist eigentlich der Beach Sprint?

Das Beach-Sprint-Format des Küstenruderns wird in das Programm der Olympischen Jugendspiele 2026 aufgenommen. Man kann also gespannt sein, was in diesem Bereich alles passiert.

Das Format:

Was ist eigentlich ein Beach Sprint?
250 m Strecke mit Slalom und Wendebojen
Credit: World Rowing

Gerudert wird eine Kurzstrecke von 250m bis eine Wendeboje erreicht wird. Auf dem Weg zur Wende-Boje müssen 2 Markierungsbojen im Slalom umrudert werden. Ist die Wende-Boje umrundet,  können die Athleten auf dem direkten Weg zum Strand rudern. Das Wenden ist das kritischste Manöver während des Rennens und oft entscheidend für den Erfolg oder Misserfolg. World Rowing hat ein schönes Video hierzu von den 2019 Events. Die Bilder in diesem Beitrag haben wir dem Video entnommen. Hier die offiziellen Regeln

Der Start:

Die Ruderer und Ruderinnen stehen am Strand und warten auf den Startschuss. Ist dieser erfolgt, rennen sie zum Boot und steigen ein. Damit das Boot stabil bleibt hat jeder Athlet 2 Helfer die ihm das Boot halten. Nur so ist ein geordneter Einstieg möglich. Jeder Athlet hat so seine eigenen Tricks, wie er am schnellsten ins Boot kommt und wegrudern kann. Zu Beginn sollten folgende Fragen beantwortet sein: Sitzen die Schuhe richtig, wo liegen die Skulls und auf welcher Seite steige ich ein? Es ist wichtig mental vorbereitet zu sein!

Die Helfer:

Küstenrudern und Beach Sprint
Boathandler helfen dem Ruderer einzusteigen

Alle Rudernde haben zwei oder drei Helfer am Boot. Sie werden Boathandlers genannt und halten das Boot in der Waagerechten und richten die Skulls des Ruderers aus. Alls das ist genau geplant damit der Bootseinstieg möglichst schnell und reibungslos klappt. Es ist nicht immer einfach. Der Swell und die auslaufenden Wellen machen es oft holprig, oder man könnte auch sagen, herausfordernd und spannend.

 

Slalom, Wende und direkter weg zu Ziel

Sitzen die Athleten wird direkt mit voller Kraft gerudert. Bei 500 Metern insgesamt wird nicht taktiert oder abgewogen wie man am besten seine Kräfte einteilt. „Full Speed“ von Anfang bis Ende! Wird der Slalom falsch angerudert gibt es Strafzeiten, ebenso wenn die Wende falsch gerudert wird.

Die Wende ist ein Manöver für sich und wird oft trainiert. Wir beschreiben die Wende nächste Woche hier im Blog. Ist man erst mal um die Boje herum wird alles aus dem Körper gepowert was Energie bringt. Man rudert zurück an den Strand,  springt aus dem Boot (Boat Handler sind bereit das Boot aufzufangen) und rennt zum Strand um den Buzzer zu drücken.

Credit: World Rowing

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.