Coastal Boats

Coastal Rowing und Beach Sprint

Coastal Rowing Championships in Oeiras

The Coastal Rowing Championships in Portugal are over. 9 of the 34 participating nations won medals.  The event was dominated by rowers from Ukraine and Spain. Ukraine won 3 golds, 1 silver and 1 bronze, and Spain won 2 golds, 1 silver and 4 bronze.

Here are all results.

Some insights on the Coastal Rowing Championships by members of Coastal Boats who were in Oeiras

Buoy and Turning Point 1

The first buoy was the most dangerous point in the race for all races. Depending on the tide, the water moved towards the Tagus and Lisbon or towards the open sea. Between 10 to 20 rowing boats romped around the buoy again and again. Some capsized, skulls were broken, boats were rowed to pieces – Turning point 1 was the place where the decisions for the rest of the race were made. Adrian Miramon capsized here, Lars Wichert wasn’t able to continue after the buoy. Good for Edouardo Linares Ruis, the rower from Berlin skilfully used his chance, passed Miramon and won his silver medal! Congratulations for this achievement!

Team Deutschland
Carina and Malte Hein: Happy after their win in the B-Final, Credit Rowing in Europe

The turmoil at buoy 1? Some rowers successfully avoided it. Carina and Malte Hein took this buoy far out, rowed carefully around it and set the groundwork for their victory in the B-Final.

Conclusion: Probably one could even have approached the buoy incorrectly in the turmoil and just accepted a time penalty. In many cases, the penalty time would be have been shorter than the time lost on this buoy.

Coastal Rowing Regatta und Beach Sprint
Hole for the fin at the beach start. Credit Rowing in Europe

Coastal Rowing WM: TV– beautiful scenes vs. boat damage

World Rowing is under a lot of pressure. Coastal Rowing is not Olympic yet, the association needs money and has to see that the races remain exciting. Contrary to the recommendations of the boat suppliers, on the third day they insisted on starting the boats in a Beach Start. This format was seen as more interesting and, above all, should ensure a more TV-friendly staging.

But these starts are everything but “fin-friendly”. The boat builders had to accept World Rowing’s instruction. Just ask Swift or Filippi, who both donated about 50 boats to FISA, how many fins got broken at this event. You wouldn’t believe it. This “format change” and the acceptance of damage to the boat, just to get better pictures on TV seems to be questionable.

Team Coastal Rowing Deutschland
Many boats got damaged in Oeiras

False starts and time penalties

Another questionable aspect was the management of false starts by World Rowing. False starts and unfair behaviour at the start were punished with a 10 second time penalty. But not only that – the whole field had to go ashore after the false start. Take the boats out, carry them ashore and focus again. Sometimes the siren only came after about 300m. As rowers we know – at this point in time we have the starting strokes and already 30 “big ones” behind us. A race termination is annoying. I asked myself why the teams weren’t allowed to continue rowing and why the time penalties were added up in the overall standings. In one case (CW2X) that even led to another broken fin.

2021 World Rowing Coastal Championships, Oeiras, Portugal / World Rowing/Benedict Tufnell

 

1 thought on “Coastal Rowing Championships in Oeiras”

  1. “roenv vor” is the original of “coastal rowing”.
    The objectif of the concepteurs is not targeted.
    The boats are not sea boats!
    (1x & 2 x)
    The empires are afraid by waves.
    The distance of race are to short.
    And
    For the beach rowing
    It’is catastrophic.
    The surf boat is the boat!
    Kenavo ar vech holl, Srj SANT ELLI.
    Bye, later.Serge SANTELLI.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Coastal Rowing und Beach Sprint

Coastal Rowing WM in Oeiras

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on email

Die Coastal Rowing WM in Portugal ist vorbei.  9 von 34 Nationen haben Medaillen gewonnen.  Darunter auch Deutschland. Vor allem aber die Ukraine und Spanien. Die Ukraine hat 3 Goldmedaillen gewonnen, die Spanier 2 Goldmedaillen. Deutschland gewinnt Silber im CM1X.
Hier sind die Resultate.

Hier einige Highlights aus Deutscher Sicht (A-Finale).

CW4X – Rc Allemannia Hamburg (12)
CM2X – Stuttgarter Rudergesellschaft (7)
CW2X – RC Allemannia Hamburg (14)
CM1X – Berliner Ruderclub (2)
CM4X – Münchner Ruderclub (11)

Boje und Turning Point 1

Die erste Boje war für alle Rennen der gefährlichste Punkt im Rennen. Abhängig von den Gezeiten zog das Wasser in Richtung Tejo (Tagus River) und Lissabon oder aber in Richtung offenes Meer.  Hier tummelten sich immer wieder 10 bis 20 Ruderbote um die Boje zu umrunden. Es wurde gekentert, Skulls sind gebrochen, es wurden Boote kaputt gerudert  – hier fielen die Entscheidungen für den Rest des Rennen. Adrian Miramon ist hier gekentert, Lars Wichert ist hier ausgeschieden.  Glück für Edouardo Linares Ruis. Der Berliner nutzte gekonnt seine Chance, zog an Miramon vorbei um schlussendlich im Ziel seine Silbermedaille erzielen. Glückwunsch für diese Leistung.

Team Deutschland
Carina und Malte Hein: Zufrieden nach dem Sieg im B-Final, Credit Rowing in Europe

Getümmel an der Boje 1 ? Es ging auch anders wie im Rennen B-Final bei den  CMix2x.  Carina und Malte Hein holten bei dieser Boje weit aus und ruderten mit Bedacht um die Boje und setzten hier die Pfeiler für Ihren Sieg im Final B.
Fazit: Wahrscheinlich hätte man im Getümmel die Boje sogar falsch anfahren können, und eine Zeitstrafe akzeptieren können. Die Strafzeit wäre in vielen Fällen kürzer als der Zeitverlust an dieser Boje.
Coastal Rowing Regatta und Beach Sprint
Finnen- Loch für den Beach Start, Credit Rowing in Europe

Coastal Rowing WM: TV – gerechte Szenen vs Bootsschäden

World Rowing steht unter Druck. Coastal Rowing ist nicht Olympisch, der Verband braucht Geld und muss sehen, dass die Rennen spannend bleiben. Entgegen den Empfehlungen der Bootslieferanten hat man am dritten Tag darauf bestanden, die Boote im Beach Start (Format Change) zu starten. Diese Format solle interessanter sein und vor allem für eine fernsehgerechtere Inszenierung sorgen.
Diese Starts sind alles andere als finnenfreundlich. Die Bootshersteller mussten die Anweisung von World Rowing akzeptieren. Fragt mal Swift oder Filippi, die der FISA beide etwa 50 Boote zur Verfügung gestellt haben, wie viele Finnen an diesem Event kaputt gegangen sind. Ihr glaubt es nicht. Dieser “Format Change”  –  Akzeptanz von Bootsschäden nur um bessere Fernsehbilder zu erhalten erscheint fraglich. Glücklicherweise konnten die Deutschen Teams an diesem Tag keine Schäden melden.

Team Coastal Rowing Deutschland
Viele Bootsschäden in Oeiras

Fehlstarts und  Zeitstrafen

Das Fehlstart Management von World Rowing war nicht zu verstehen. Fehlstarts und unfaires Verhalten am Start wurden mit 10 Sekunden Zeit Zeitstrafe belegt. Aber nicht nur das. Nein – das ganze Feld musste nach dem Fehlstart wieder an Land. Boote raus, an Land tragen und wieder neu konzentrieren.  Manchmal kam die Sirene erst nach ca. 300m. Als Ruderer wissen wir – zu diesem Zeitpunkt haben wir die Startschläge und 30″dicke” hinter uns. Ein Rennabbruch ist ärgerlich. Ich habe mich gefragt, warum man die Teams nicht weiter rudern lässt und die Zeitstrafen im Gesamtklassement addiert. So wurden in einem Fall (CW2X) wieder eine Finne gebrochen.

2021 World Rowing Coastal Championships, Oeiras, Portugal / World Rowing/Benedict Tufnell

 

Anzeige

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on whatsapp
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on email

Abonnieren sie unseren Newsletter für weitere interessante Beiträge:

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Das könnte sie auch interessieren

Coastal Rowing POP UP Races

Was ist ein Coastal Rowing Pop up Race? Pop-up-Wettbewerbe, eine neue Initiative im niederländischen Küstenruderwettbewerb, bei dem Rennen auf offenem Wasser organisiert werden, die dem

Weiterlesen »

Coastal Rowing Praxis Seminar

Ende April war es endlich soweit! Rowing in Europe startete mit dem neu gestalteten Coastal Rowing Praxis Seminar. Der eintägige Workshop vom vergangenen Wochenende hat

Weiterlesen »