Coastal Boats

Coastal Rowing und Beach Sprint

Coastal Rowing Regatta in Bremerhaven – a great success for the second time!

125 participants in Bremen

The 2nd Coastal Rowing Regatta in Bremerhaven was a great success. Exciting races took place in the beach sprint and long distance. The organizer was very satisfied with the regatta. Only the weather was a bit tricky at the weekend and left participants and organizers really wet on Sunday. The DRV released the following statement (translated from the German press release):

In difficult weather, the 2nd Coastal Rowing Regatta took place in Bremerhaven on August 21st and 22nd. Around 125 rowers from all over Germany and Switzerland had registered for the event.

Unfortunately, the usually reliable wind on the North Sea took a break on Saturday and only blew moderately on Sunday – an advantage for most of the participants with little experience in coastal rowing. The vastness of the regatta area, big ships and the current of the Weser challenged everyone equally.

Qualification of the Coastal World Cup

Preparation for the Beach Sprint, Credit: Coastal Boats.de

Under the eyes of Katharina von Kodolitsch, the DRV department chairwomen for association development and association service, the qualifiers for the beach sprint of the Coastal World Championships in Oeiras (Portugal) started on Saturday. Maiko Remmers (ARGO Aurich) won the Men’s Co1x, Carina Hein (RC Allemannia Hamburg) the Women’s Co1x and Carina and Malte Hein won the Mixed Co2x.

The fact that the course was set up analogously to Oeiras turned out to be a problem for the junior team of the Allemannia Hamburg club. Although the last children’s slalom on the Dove Elbe was not that long ago and both of them competed quite successfully, they got lost, so that all victories in the junior categories went to the Ulm RC Danube, coached by Sina Burmeister.

Thrilling races took also place in the standard beach sprint competitions, now on 4 lanes and without slaloms. Apart from a time penalty for warming up in the fairway of the federal waterway, no sanctions from the competition judges Holger Heitsch (Otterndorf) and Martin Mensch (Bremen) were necessary, and all boats remained intact.

Coastal Rowing Regatta und Beach Sprint
Many Co4x/+ Race at the 2nd Coastal Rownig Regatta, Credit: Coastal Boats.de

After a few cancellations, 10 Co2x and 23 C4x+ started the 4.1 km challenge on the especially rainy Sunday. Most of the victories went to the many athletes of the RC Allemannia Hamburg. The Women’s Co4x+ was won by the Ulm RC Donau. The Men’s Co4x+ was won by  a mixed boat of the Regatta Association Ems-Jade Weser and the Osnabrücker RV and the Mixed Co4+ was won by the RC Allemannia Hamburg. Allemannia also won the Mixed Co2x with Carina and Malte Hein.

You can find all results here.

2 Coastal Rowing Ragatta in Bremerhaven.

The Bremerhaven rowing club would like to thank the sponsors Fast Sports and Rowing in Europe for the provision of numerous boats and active support in preparation and implementation of the regatta.

What’s up next? The Coastal Regatta on September 11-12 in Flensburg.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Coastal Boats

Coastal Rowing Regatta und Beach Sprint

Coastal Rowing Regatta in Bremerhaven – zum zweiten mal ein grosser Erfolg

125 Meldungen in Bremen

Die 2. Coastal Rowing Regatta in Bremerhaven war ein grosser Erfolg.  Beach Sprint und Langstrecke zeigten spannende Rennen. Der Veranstalter zeigt sich sehr zufrieden. Nur das Wetter hatte am Wochenende so seine Tücken und liess Teilnehmer wie Organisatoren am Sonntag so richtig nass werden.  Der DRV schreibt in seiner Pressenotiz:

„Bei abwechslungsreichem Wetter fand am 21. und 22. August die 2. Coastal Rowing Regatta in Bremerhaven statt. Gemeldet hatten ca. 125 Ruderinnen und Ruderer aus ganz Deutschland und der Schweiz.

Leider legte der eigentlich zuverlässige Nordseewind am Samstag eine Pause ein und blies auch am Sonntag nur mäßig, was für den Großteil der Teilnehmenden mit geringer Erfahrung im Coastal Rowing von Vorteil war. Die Weite des Regattaareals, Schifffahrt und Strömung der Weser forderten alle gleichermaßen heraus.

Qualifikation für die WM

Vorbereitung zum Beach Sprint, Credit: Coastal Boats.de

Unter Beobachtung von Katharina von Kodolitsch, DRV-Ressortvorsitzende Verbandsentwicklung und Vereinsservice, starteten am Samstag zunächst die Qualifikanten für den Beachsprint der Coastal WM in Oeiras (Portugal). Hier siegten Meiko Remmers (ARGO Aurich) bei den Männern, Carina Hein (RC Allemannia Hamburg) bei den Frauen und Carina und Malte Hein im Mix Zweier.

Dass der Parcours analog zu Oeiras aufgebaut war, wurde den Junioren der Hamburger Allemannia zum Verhängnis. Obwohl der letzte Kinder-Slalom auf der Dove Elbe noch gar nicht so lange her und von beiden recht erfolgreich bestritten worden war , verfuhren sie sich, so dass alle Siege beim Nachwuchs an den Ulmer RC Donau gingen, die unter Obhut von Sina Burmeister die lange Anreise aus dem Süden der Republik auf sich genommen hatten.

Packende Rennen bei der 2. Coastal Rowing Regatta waren auch bei den Standardrennen im Beachsprint, nun auf 4 Bahnen und ohne Slalom, zu beobachten. Doch Fairness und gegenseitige Unterstützung blieben trotz allen Siegeswillens Trumpf. Abgesehen von einer Zeitstrafe für Warmfahren im Fahrwasser der Bundeswasserstraße waren keinerlei Sanktionen durch die Wettkampfrichter Holger Heitsch (Otterndorf) und Martin Mensch (Bremen) mehr nötig, und alle Boote blieben heil.

Coastal Rowing Regatta und Beach Sprint
Viele Co4x/+ Rennen bei der 2 Coastal Rownig Regatta, Credit: Coastal Boats.de

Zur 4,1 km Challenge am regnerischen Sonntag starteten nach einigen Abmeldungen noch 10 Zweier und 23 Vierer. Die meisten Siege gingen an die auch zahlenmäßig starken Sportlerinnen und Sportler des RC Allemannia Hamburg, die Zeitschnellsten der Vierer waren der Ulmer RC Donau bei den Frauen, das Boot des Regatta-Verbands Ems-Jade Weser und des Osnabrücker RV bei den Männern und das des RC Allemannia Hamburg bei den Mix Teams. Die Allemannia stellte auch den zeitschnellsten Zweier, besetzt mit Carina und Malte Hein.

Alle Ergebnisse findet ihr hier.

2 Coastal Rowing Ragatta in Bremerhaven.

Der Bremerhavener Ruderverein bedankt sich sehr bei den Sponsoren Fast Sports und Rowing in Europe für die Bereitstellung zahlreicher Boote und tatkräftige Unterstützung bei Vorbereitung und Durchführung.“ Pressenotiz vom DRV

Weiter gehts weiter? Mit Coastal Regatten am 11-12 September in Flensburg: Siehe hier

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.